Workshop on Motives, Galois Representations and Cohomology Around the Langlands Program

Mon, 11/06/2017 - 09:00 to Fri, 11/10/2017 - 12:30

The main theme  will be the relationship between cohomology of arithmetic groups, Galois representations, and motives, which arises out of the Langlands program.  The workshop will emphasize some directions that have seen recent progress, for example, new results and new features in the non-Hermitian case, or constructions of new Euler systems



The workshop is organized by Akshay Venkatesh (IAS/Stanford University), Frank Calegari (University of Chicago).



Special Year on Optimization, Statistics, and Theoretical Machine Learning

Sun, 09/01/2019 (All day) to Thu, 04/30/2020 (All day)

The special year will be led by Sanjeev Arora, who holds a dual appointment as Charles Fitzmorris Professor of Computer Science at Princeton University and Visiting Professor at the IAS, 2017-2020.

Special Year

For the application and guidelines please go here:   The deadline for applications is December 1.  3 letters of recommendation is the standard for all applications.


Special year on Variational Methods in Geometry

Sat, 09/01/2018 (All day) to Tue, 04/30/2019 (All day)

During the 2018-19 academic year, the School will have a special program on Variational Methods in Geometry. Fernando Codá Marques of Princeton University will be the Distinguished Visiting Professor.

Confirmed senior participants for Term I:  Ailana Fraser, Bill Meeks, Andre Neves and Richard Schoen    Term II:  Ailana Fraser, Alexander Nabutovsky, Tristan Rivière, Regina Rotman, Neshan Wickramasekera


Workshop on Homological Mirror Symmetry: Emerging Developments and Applications

Mon, 03/13/2017 - 09:00 to Fri, 03/17/2017 - 12:30

The spring workshop will emphasize the interactions between homological mirror symmetry and recent developments in other areas of mathematics and physics.



The workshop is organized by Paul Seidel (MIT) and James Pascaleff (Univ Illinois)



Denis Auroux, Tobias Dyckerhoff, Xin Jin, Ludmil Katzarkov, Si Li, Tony Pantev, Dhruv Ranganathan, Mauricio Romo, Bernd Siebert, Jake Solomon, Nicolas Templier, Lauren Williams, Ed Witten, Tony Yue Yu