seminars

 

The Theoretical Computer Science/Discrete Mathematics Seminars will take place every Monday at 11:00 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. and every Tuesday at 10:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. at the Institute for Advanced Study. The lectures will be held in S-101, the seminar room in Simonyi Hall, unless stated otherwise.

If you are interested in attenting future seminars and are not already on our mailing list from previous years, please send an e-mail to Kristina Phillips


and ask to be added.

Directions to the Institute

UPCOMING SEMINAR TITLES INCLUDE:

Monday, February 18
11:00am - 12:00pm
no seminar

Monday, February 18
12:15pm - 1:45pm
Karan Singh, Princeton University
Curiosity, Intrinsic Motivation, and Provably Efficient Maximum Entropy Exploration

Tuesday, February 19
10:30am - 12:30pm
June Huh, Visiting Professor, School of Mathematics
Lorentzian polynomials

Monday, February 25
11:00am - 12:00pm
Shayan Garan, University of Washington
Strongly log concave polynomials, high dimensional simplicial complexes, and an FPRAS for counting Bases of Matroids

Monday, February 25
12:15pm - 1:45pm
TBA
TBA

Tuesday, February 26
10:30am - 12:30pm
June Huh, Visiting Professor, School of Mathematics
Lorentzian polynomials

Monday, March 4
11:00am - 12:00pm
Yuval Peled, New York University
To Be Announced

Monday, March 4
12:15pm - 1:45pm
TBA
TBA

Tuesday, March 5
10:30am - 12:30pm
Swastik Kopparty, Rutgers University; Member, School of Mathematics
To Be Announced

Monday, March 11
11:00am - 12:00pm
Mert Sağlam, University of Washington
Near log-convexity of measured heat in (discrete) time and consequences

Monday, March 11
12:15pm - 1:45pm
TBA
TBA

Tuesday, March 12
10:30am - 12:30pm
Karola Meszaros, Cornell University; von Neumann Fellow
To Be Announced

Monday, March 18
11:00am - 12:00pm
Imre Barany, Renyi Institute, Hungary and UCL, London
To Be Announced

Monday, March 18
12:15pm - 1:45pm
TBA
TBA

Tuesday, March 19
10:30am - 12:30pm
To Be Announced
To Be Announced

Monday, March 25
11:00am - 12:00pm
Aaron Potechin, University of Chicago
To Be Announced

Monday, March 25
12:15pm - 1:45pm
TBA
TBA

Tuesday, March 26
10:30am - 12:30pm
To Be Announced
To Be Announced

Monday, April 1
11:00am - 12:00pm
To Be Announced
To Be Announced

Monday, April 1
12:15pm - 1:45pm
TBD
TBD

Tuesday, April 2
10:30am - 12:30pm
To Be Announced
To Be Announced

Monday, April 8
11:00am - 12:00pm
To Be Announced
To Be Announced

Monday, April 8
12:15pm - 1:45pm
TBA
TBA

Tuesday, April 9
10:30am - 12:30pm
To Be Announced
To Be Announced

Monday, April 15
11:00am - 12:00pm
Boaz Barak, Harvard University

Monday, April 15
12:15pm - 1:45pm
TBA
TBA

Tuesday, April 16
10:30am - 12:30pm
TBA

Monday, April 22
12:15pm - 1:45pm
TBA
TBA



2017-2018 Past Seminars