Seminars

Monday, May 6, 2019
Holi Festival
()
Monday, April 22, 2019 Seminar on Theoretical Machine Learning
No Seminar ()
Monday, April 15, 2019 Is optimization/ERM the right metaphor for deep learning?
Sanjeev Arora (Princeton University; Visiting Professor, School of mathematics)
Monday, April 15, 2019
On the possibility of an instance-based complexity theory.
Boaz Barak (Harvard University)
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Flow polytopes
Karola Meszaros (Cornell University; von Neumann Fellow, School of Mathematics)
Monday, April 8, 2019
Fast minimization of structured convex quartics
Brian Bullins (Princeton University)
Monday, April 8, 2019
Collective Coin-Flipping Protocols and Influences of Coalitions
Hamed Hatami (University of McGill)
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
A high-dimensional Littlewood--Offord inequality
Li-Yang Tan (Stanford University)
Monday, April 1, 2019 Seminar on Theoretical Machine Learning
No Seminar ()
Monday, April 1, 2019
Fooling polytopes
Li-Yang Tan (Stanford University)
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Factors of sparse polynomials: structural results and some algorithms
Shubhangi Saraf (Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, March 25, 2019 Seminar on Theoretical Machine Learning
No Seminar ()
Monday, March 25, 2019
On the Approximation Resistance of Balanced Linear Threshold Functions
Aaron Potechin (University of Chicago)
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
A Brief Tour of Proof Complexity: Lower Bounds and Open Problems
Toniann Pitassi (University of Toronto; Visiting Professor, School of Mathematics)
Monday, March 18, 2019 Seminar on Theoretical Machine Learning
No Seminar ()
Monday, March 18, 2019
An Application of the Universality Theorem for Tverberg Partitions
Imre Barany (Renyi Institute, Hungary and UCL, London)
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Halting problems for sandpiles and abelian networks
Lionel Levine (Cornell University; von Neumann Fellow)
Monday, March 11, 2019
Near log-convexity of measured heat in (discrete) time and consequences
Mert Sağlam (University of Washington)
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Improved List-Decoding and Local List-Decoding Algorithms for Polynomial Codes
Swastik Kopparty (Rutgers University; Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, March 4, 2019
FFJORD: Free-form Continuous Dynamics for Scalable Reversible Generative Models
Will Grathwohl (University of Toronto)
Monday, March 4, 2019
Local and global expansion of graphs
Yuval Peled (New York University)
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Lorentzian polynomials
June Huh (Visiting Professor, School of Mathematics)
Monday, February 25, 2019 Seminar on Theoretical Machine Learning
No Seminar ()
Monday, February 25, 2019
Strongly log concave polynomials, high dimensional simplicial complexes, and an FPRAS for counting Bases of Matroids
Shayan Oveis Gharan (University of Washington)
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Lorentzian polynomials
June Huh (Visiting Professor, School of Mathematics)
Monday, February 18, 2019
Curiosity, Intrinsic Motivation, and Provably Efficient Maximum Entropy Exploration
Karan Singh (Princeton University)
Monday, February 18, 2019 Computer Science/Discrete Mathematics Seminar I
no seminar ()
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Why can't we prove tensor rank and Waring rank lower bounds?
Visu Makam (University of Michigan; Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, February 11, 2019
Online Control with Adversarial Disturbances
Naman Agarwal (Online Control with Adversarial Disturbances)
Monday, February 11, 2019
Interactive Coding Over the Noisy Broadcast Channel
Gillat Kol (Princeton University)
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Non-commutative rank
Visu Makam (University of Michigan; Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, February 4, 2019
Near-Optimal Strong Dispersers
Dean Doron (The University of Texas at Austin)
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
A Regularity Lemma with Modifications
Guy Moshkovitz (Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, January 28, 2019 Seminar on Theoretical Machine Learning
No Seminar ()
Monday, January 28, 2019
PCP and Delegating Computation: A Love Story.
Yael Tauman Kalai (Microsoft Research)
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
New Results on Projections
Guy Moshkovitz (Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, January 21, 2019 Computer Science/Discrete Mathematics Seminar I
no seminar ()
Tuesday, December 18, 2018 Computer Science/Discrete Mathematics Seminar II
No Seminar ()
Monday, December 17, 2018 Seminar on Theoretical Machine Learning
No Seminar ()
Monday, December 17, 2018 Computer Science/Discrete Mathematics Seminar I
No Seminar ()
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
An invitation to tensor networks
Michael Walter (University of Amsterdam)
Monday, December 10, 2018
On Expressiveness and Optimization in Deep Learning
Nadav Cohen (Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, December 10, 2018
A matrix expander Chernoff bound
Ankit Garg (Microsoft Research)
Tuesday, December 4, 2018 Computer Science/Discrete Mathematics Seminar II
No Seminar (Simons workshop Berkeley) ()
Monday, December 3, 2018 Seminar on Theoretical Machine Learning
No Seminar ()
Monday, December 3, 2018 Computer Science/Discrete Mathematics Seminar I
No Seminar (Simons workshop Berkeley) ()
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monotone Circuit Lower Bounds from Resolution
Mika Goos (Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, November 26, 2018
A La Carte Embedding: Cheap but Effective Induction of Semantic Feature Vectors
Nikunj Saunshi (Princeton University)
Monday, November 26, 2018
Classical Verification of Quantum Computations
Urmila Mahadev (University of California Berkeley)
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Introduction to Query-to-Communication Lifting
Mika Goos (Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, November 19, 2018
Prediction with a Short Memory
Sham Kakade (University of Washington and Google Brain)
Monday, November 19, 2018 Computer Science/Discrete Mathematics Seminar I
No Seminar ()
Tuesday, November 13, 2018 No Seminar (Oberwolfach)
No Seminar (Oberwolfach) ()
Monday, November 12, 2018
Generalized Framework for Nonlinear Acceleration
Damien Scieur (Princeton University)
Monday, November 12, 2018 No Seminar (Oberwolfach)
No Seminar (Oberwolfach) ()
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
The GM-MDS conjecture
Shachar Lovett (University of California San Diego)
Monday, November 5, 2018
Scalable natural gradient training of neural networks
Roger Grosse (University of Toronto)
Monday, November 5, 2018
Sunflowers and friends
Shachar Lovett (University of California San Diego)
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
On the NP-hardness of 2-to-2 Games
Dor Minzer (Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, October 29, 2018
X-Ramanujan graphs: ex uno plures
Ryan O'Donnell (Carnegie Mellon University)
Monday, October 29, 2018 Seminar on Theoretical Machine Learning
No Seminar ()
Monday, October 29, 2018
2-universality of random graphs.
Gal Kronenberg (Tel Aviv University)
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Small-Set Expansion on the Grassmann Graph.
Dor Minzer (Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, October 22, 2018
Learning in Non-convex Games with an Optimization Oracle.
Alon Gonen (Princeton University)
Monday, October 22, 2018
Approximating the edit distance to within a constant factor in truly subquadratic time.
Mike Saks (Rutgers University)
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Asymptotic spectra and their applications I and II
Jeroen Zuiddam (Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, October 15, 2018
On the Dynamics of Gradient Descent for Training Deep Neural Networks
Wei Hu (Princeton University)
Monday, October 15, 2018
Breaking the Circuit-Size Barrier in Secret Sharing
Vinod Vaikuntanathan (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Asymptotic spectra and their applications I and II
Jeroen Zuiddam (Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, October 8, 2018 TBA
TBA ()
Monday, October 8, 2018 Computer Science/Discrete Mathematics Seminar I
No Seminar ()
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Tensor rank
Avi Wigderson (Herbert H. Maass Professor, School of Mathematics)
Monday, October 1, 2018
Structured Learning with Parsimony in Measurements and Computations: Theory, Algorithms, and Applications
Xingguo Li (Princeton University)
Monday, October 1, 2018
Oracle Separation of Quantum Polynomial time and the Polynomial Hierarchy
Avishay Tal (University of California, Berkeley)
Tuesday, September 25, 2018 No Seminar
No Seminar ()
Monday, September 24, 2018
Four and a half proofs of a product-measure version of the Erdös-Ko-Rado Theorem.
Ehud Friedgut (The Weizmann Institute of Science)