Seminars

Friday, June 8, 2018
Capacities, Hyperbolicity, Submodularity and all the jazz...
Leonid Gurvits (The City College of New York)
Friday, June 8, 2018
Combinatorial methods for PIT (and ranks of matrix spaces)
Roy Meshulam (Technion)
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Solution to the Paulsen problem (via operator scaling)
Lap Chi Lau (University of Waterloo)
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Operator Scaling via Geodesically Convex Optimization, Invariant Theory and Polynomial Identity Testing
Yuanzhi Li (Princeton University)
Thursday, June 7, 2018
An Introduction to Geodesic Convexity
Nisheeth Vishnoi (EPFL)
Thursday, June 7, 2018
The dynamics of regularized flows on convex bodies
James Lee (University of Washington)
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Geometric complexity theory (GCT): Algorithmic challenges in invariant theory
Ketan D. Mulmuley (University of Chicago)
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Algorithmic invariant theory
Visu Makam (University of Michigan)
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Some PIT problems in the light of the non-communtative rank algorithm
Gábor Ivanyos (Research Institute of Computer Science and Control, Budapest)
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
An algebraic algorithm for non-commutative rank over any field
K.V. Subrahmanyam (Chennai Mathematical Institute)
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Tensors: rank, entropy and entanglement
Matthias Christandl (University of Coppenhagen)
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Alternate minimization algorithms for scaling problems and their analysis
Rafael Oliveira (University of Toronto)
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Introduction to geometric invariant theory 2: Moment polytopes
Michael Walter (University of Amsterdam)
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Introduction to geometric invariant theory 1: Noncommutative duality
Ankit Garg (Microsoft Research New England)
Monday, June 4, 2018
An introduction to Invariant Theory
Harm Derksen (University of Michigan)
Monday, June 4, 2018
A gentle introduction to group representation theory
Peter Buergisser (Technical University of Berlin)
Monday, June 4, 2018
Motivations, connections and scope of the workshop
Avi Wigderson (IAS)
Monday, June 4, 2018
Motivations, connections and scope of the workshop
Avi Wigderson (IAS)
Thursday, April 26, 2018 Entire Regularization Path for Maximum Entropy Models
Yoram Singer (Princeton University)
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Online Improper Learning with an Approximation Oracle
Zhiyuan Li (Princeton University)
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
A simple proof of a reverse Minkowski inequality
Noah Stephens-Davidowitz (Visitor, School of Mathematics)
Monday, April 16, 2018
Sums of Squares Over k-Subset Hypercubes
Annie Raymond (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
Thursday, April 12, 2018
Stability and Generalization in Adaptive Data Analysis
Vitaly Feldman (Google Brain)
Tuesday, April 10, 2018
Explicit Binary Tree Codes with Polylogarithmic Size Alphabet
Gil Cohen (Princeton University)
Monday, April 9, 2018
Large deviations in random graphs
Eyal Lubetzky (New York University)
Thursday, April 5, 2018
A Compressed Sensing View of Unsupervised Text Embeddings, Bag-of-n-Grams, and LSTMs
Mikhail Khodak (Princeton University)
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Heisenberg geometry and the Goemans—Linial SDP
Assaf Naor (Princeton University; Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, March 26, 2018
Circuit Lower Bounds for Nondeterministic Quasi-Polytime: An Easy Witness Lemma for NP and NQP
Cody Murray (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Operator Scaling via Geodesically Convex Optimization, Invariant Theory and Polynomial Identity Testing (Continued)
Yuanzhi Li (Princeton University)
Monday, March 19, 2018
Operator Scaling via Geodesically Convex Optimization, Invariant Theory and Polynomial Identity Testing
Yuanzhi Li (Princeton University)
Tuesday, March 13, 2018
Abstract Convexity, Weak Epsilon-Nets, and Radon Number
Shay Moran (University of California, San Diego; Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, March 12, 2018
Math for underprivileged high school kids
Rajiv Gandhi, Dan Zaharopol (Program on Algorithmic and Combinatorial Thinking (PACT), Bridge to Enter Advanced Mathematics (BEAM))
Monday, March 12, 2018
Computer Science/Discrete Mathematics Seminar I
No Seminar ()
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Boolean function analysis: beyond the Boolean cube (continued)
Yuval Filmus (Technion)
Monday, March 5, 2018
Boolean function analysis: beyond the Boolean cube
Yuval Filmus (Technion)
Thursday, March 1, 2018
Small-loss bounds for online learning with partial information
Thodoris Lykouris (Cornell University)
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
On the Communication Complexity of Classification Problems
Roi Livni (Princeton University)
Monday, February 26, 2018
A Tight Bound for Hypergraph Regularity
Guy Moshkovitz (Harvard University)
Thursday, February 22, 2018
On the Optimization of Deep Networks: Implicit Acceleration by Overparameterization
Nadav Cohen (Member, School of Mathematics)
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Some closure results for polynomial factorization
Mrinal Kumar (Harvard University)
Tuesday, February 13, 2018
Model theory and ultraproducts
Maryanthe Malliaris (The University of Chicago; von Neumann Fellow, School of Mathematics)
Monday, February 12, 2018
Nonlinear dimensionality reduction for faster kernel methods in machine learning.
Christopher Musco (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Thursday, February 8, 2018 Seminar on Theoretical Machine Learning
No Seminar ()
Tuesday, February 6, 2018
Outlier-Robust Estimation via Sum-of-Squares
Pravesh Kothari (Princeton University; Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, February 5, 2018
Locally Repairable Codes, Storage Capacity and Index Coding
Arya Mazumdar (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
Thursday, February 1, 2018
Two approaches to (Deep) Learning with Differential Privacy
Kunal Talwar (Google Brain)
Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Explicit, Epsilon-Balanced Codes Close to the Gilbert-Varshamov Bound
Amnon Ta-Shma (Tel Aviv University)
Monday, January 29, 2018
Explicit, Epsilon-Balanced Codes Close to the Gilbert-Varshamov Bound
Amnon Ta-Shma (Tel Aviv University)
Thursday, January 25, 2018
Prediction and Control of Linear Dynamical Systems
Cyril Zhang (Princeton University)
Tuesday, January 23, 2018
A Constant-factor Approximation Algorithm for the Asymmetric Traveling Salesman Problem
Ola Svensson (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne)
Monday, January 22, 2018
The Matching Problem in General Graphs is in Quasi-NC
Ola Svensson (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne)
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
A PSPACE construction of a hitting set for the closure of small algebraic circuits
Amir Shpilka (Tel Aviv University)
Monday, December 11, 2017
Learning with little data
Richard Zemel (University of Toronto; Visitor, School of Mathematics)
Monday, December 11, 2017
Recent advances in high dimensional robust statistics
Daniel Kane (University of California, San Diego)
Tuesday, December 5, 2017
Short proofs are hard to find (joint work w/ Toni Pitassi and Hao Wei)
Ian Mertz (University of Toronto)
Monday, December 4, 2017
General strong polarization
Madhu Sudan (Harvard University)
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Geometric complexity theory from a combinatorial viewpoint
Greta Panova (University of Pennsylvania; von Neumann Fellow, School of Mathematics)
Monday, November 27, 2017
Everything you wanted to know about machine learning but didn't know whom to ask
Sanjeev Arora (Princeton University; Visiting Professor, School of Mathematics)
Monday, November 27, 2017
Beyond log-concavity: provable guarantees for sampling multi-modal distributions using simulated tempering Langevin Monte Carlo
Holden Lee (Princeton University)
Monday, November 27, 2017
Locally testable and locally correctable codes approaching the Gilbert-Varshamov bound
Shubhangi Saraf (Rutgers University)
Tuesday, November 21, 2017
A practical guide to deep learning
Richard Zemel (University of Toronto; Visitor, School of Mathematics)
Monday, November 20, 2017 No seminar today
No seminar today ()
Tuesday, November 14, 2017
Learning models: connections between boosting, hard-core distributions, dense models, GAN, and regularity II
Russell Impagliazzo (University of California, San Diego)
Monday, November 13, 2017
Towards a better understanding of neural networks: learning dynamics, interpretability and RL generalization
Maithra Raghu (Cornell University)
Monday, November 13, 2017
Learning models: connections between boosting, hard-core distributions, dense models, GAN, and regularity I
Russell Impagliazzo (University of California, San Diego)
Tuesday, November 7, 2017
Pseudorandom generators for unordered branching programs
Eshan Chattopadhyay (Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, November 6, 2017
Naturalizing a programming language
Sida Wang (Visitor, School of Mathematics)
Monday, November 6, 2017
Language edit distance, $(\min,+)$-matrix multiplication & beyond
Barna Saha (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
Tuesday, October 31, 2017
Cap-sets in $(F_q)^n$ and related problems
Zeev Dvir (Princeton University; von Neumann Fellow, School of Mathematics)
Monday, October 30, 2017
Fooling intersections of low-weight halfspaces
Rocco Servedio (Columbia University)
Tuesday, October 24, 2017
On the strength of comparison queries
Shay Moran (University of California, San Diego; Member, School of Mathematics)
Monday, October 23, 2017
A nearly optimal lower bound on the approximate degree of AC$^0$
Mark Bun (Princeton University)
Tuesday, October 17, 2017 No seminar: FOCS
No seminar: FOCS ()
Monday, October 16, 2017
Keeping IT cool: machine learning for data center cooling
Nevena Lazic (Google)
Monday, October 16, 2017 No seminar: FOCS
No seminar: FOCS ()
Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Structural aspects of the null-cone problem in invariant theory
Ankit Garg (Microsoft Research)
Monday, October 9, 2017
Barriers for rank methods in arithmetic complexity
Rafael Oliveira (University of Toronto)
Tuesday, October 3, 2017
Elementary open problems in Algebra (with consequences in computational complexity)
Avi Wigderson (Herbert H. Maass Professor, School of Mathematics)
Monday, October 2, 2017
Hyperparameter optimization: a spectral approach
Elad Hazan (Princeton University)
Monday, October 2, 2017
Crossing the logarithmic barrier for dynamic boolean data structure lower bounds
Omri Weinstein (Columbia University)
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Lifting theorems in communication complexity and applications
Toniann Pitassi (University of Toronto; Visiting Professor, School of Mathematics)
Monday, September 18, 2017
Rigorous RG: a provably efficient and possibly practical algorithm for simulating 1D quantum systems
Umesh Vazirani (University of California, Berkeley)